Posted by: gruvenreuven | September 28, 2008

L’Shana Tova

Being frum and living on the Fringes of Galut always presents itself with many issues to work through. Food choices are limited; Lack of Eruv, not to mention a lack of “Community”, always tests an individual’s faith & determination.

I would say one of the most challenging aspects of living on the Fringe, is not being within walking distance of a Minyan. This is especially concerning during the Holidays.

While most of my davening is done at home and finding hospitality for Shabbos is always an option, The Holidays presents itself with a challenge in regards to preparation.

Between Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot, Shemini Azeret & Simchat Torah, I am looking to arrange accommodations for 7 days!

Fortunately I can rely on my pre-frum days when I used to follow the Grateful Dead from city to city. (The sin of my past life that now has me stuck out here in Galut) There were always rooms to book, extra tickets to find as well as “Crash” space to discover. Ok, replace all that now with Hospitality stays, Yom-Tov meals and hotel rooms. The concept is still the same. Finding creative accommodations!

Naturally, just like my Grateful Dead days, I’ve left some of the details to the last minute, but we are happy to say we are all set for Rosh Hashanah. My family and I will be staying with Friends in North East Philadelphia. This will allow us to spend most of the Holiday with my father in-law. With my Mother in-law in the Hospital this Rosh Hashanah being with my Father in-law is a priority for us.

For Yom Yippur we will be staying with Friends in Lower Merion and be attending the Chabad of the Main Line, which will be our Shul when we move.

With our move to Lower Merion occurring the day after Simchas Torah, I can breath a sigh of relief that this will be the last holiday season that I will need to scramble for accommodations. Best of all, our new house in Lower Merion has a Shabbos Hospitality room which we hope to fill often, (and especially on Yom Tov) with visitors needing a place to stay for Shabbos and the Holidays!

May the holy merits of charity stand for you this Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur! Wishing you all the best in 5769, May you be inscribed in the book of Life!

Responses

  1. nu, how’d it go?


Leave a Reply

Categories

