Posted by: gruvenreuven | March 26, 2009

Gruven Reuven & Son’s Groovy Challah Recipe

Challah Time!

Challah Time!

To honor Shabbos and provide some yummy home baked challah for our Shabbos meals, my sons (Aged 10 & 3) and I like to bake our own Challah. There is something about making your own Challah that makes shabbos seem more “Real”. We enjoy this recipe as it allows my boys and I to prepare Thursday night. We then let the dough rise in the fridge. My wife then takes the challah (separates) and bakes the Challah in the afternoon. This way we extend the mitzvah to the entire family.

It’s a easy fool-proof and fun! Give it a try this shabbos. Making Hamotzi over your own Challah makes the blessing even more special.

Gruven Reuven & Son’s Groovy Challah Recipe

A Groovy Challah you can make the night before and let rise overnight in the Fridge!
Make 3 Decent size Challot

10 Cups of Flour
1 Cup Sugar
3 teaspoons salt
2 packages yeast
2 cups warm water
1 cup margarine melted (Parve)
6 Eggs

In a large bowl mix 9 cups of the flour along with the Sugar and Salt.

In a small bowl dissolve the yeast in luke warm water and add to the dry ingredients.

Add the beaten eggs and melted margarine. Mix very well and add more flour until the dough leaves the sides of the mixing bowl.

Place on a floured board and knead until smooth (adding enough flour so the dough does not stick to the board.)

A good test for kneading is to punch you finger into the dough, when the depression bounces back, it’s ready!

Place the dough in an oiled bowl and turn it so it’s lightly oiled. Cover with a damp cloth/towel and set in a warm place. I put mine in the oven set to warm, then shut the oven off. Allow it to rise for two hours in this warm spot and remove.

Punch it down and let rise in the refrigerator over night.

In the morning take the dough from the fridge and punch it down again (separate a bit of challah with a Blessing) and braid into 3 medium loaves or 2 large loaves..

Place on a oiled baking pan. Preheat the oven to 350 and bake for 40 minutes or until golden brown

Important! Don’t forget to take a little piece of dough before backing a separate it saying the following blessing

Baruch ata Adonoy, Eloheinu melech ha-olam, asher kidishanu bimitzvo’sav, vitzivanu lihafrish challah min ha-issa.

(Blessed are You God, King of the Universe, Who made us holy with His commandments, and commanded us to separate challah from the dough.)

Shabbat Shalom! Let me know how it turned out!!

Responses

  1. What a great photo! I totally agree – there is nothing like fresh baked challah for Shabbat, and the smell that fills the house is a sign that it’s beginning…
    I’ve been making my own challot since my visit to LA in September – after I saw my sister doing it…(still copying her after all these years!). I use the recipe on the packet of yeast.

    Wonderful that you get the whole family involved! Shabbat Shalom!

  2. Agreed! Although I typically miss the smell of our Challah baking as I’m in work. Along those lines though, nothing beats coming downstairs in the morning to the smell of Cholent cooking in the crockpot on Shabbos morning. I think you touched about something there… The day even SMELLS different then a normal weekday!

  3. NICE! Love the photo, love the commentary, and I will definitely have to try out the recipe 🙂 There is something wonderful about baking challah on your own, though!

  4. Very cute photo. I’ve been baking Challah since I was a teen, and I must say, it’s my favorite bread in the world 🙂

  5. Can this recipe be made with whole wheat?

  6. I have done 5cups wheeat and 5 cups whole wheat…. never tried it with pure whole wheat


Leave a Reply

Categories

