Posted by: gruvenreuven | March 7, 2011

Chodesh Tov

A guten chodesh Tov! With the chilly temps this morning, it’s hard to believe that in less then two weeks it will be Purim! I love Rosh Chodesh Davening. 4-Aliyah Torah reading, , Hallel!, Barchi Nafshi, the Rashi/Rebbenu Tam tefillin swap and the Yaaleh Ve’yavoh insertion into the Shemoneh Esrei.

In most shuls a reminder prior to the Shemoneh Esrei is given in the way of the gabbi banging his schtender to alert everyone not to forget the Yaaleh Ve’yavoh insertion. I speak from experience, failure to remember the insertion, may cause you to repeat the Shemoneh Esrei. I wish our Gabbi would bang his schtender just prior to me getting to Yaaleh Ve’yavoh, but of course that is not possible. Despite the advance warning, and despite me fully knowing it’s Rosh Chodesh, I still have the tendency to blow by it. (Which screams that I need to be more careful in my Davening – I know… I’m working on it)

Today after our Gabbi banged his schtender, I snickered with a Joke I couldn’t articulate out loud. Normally the bangs are loud and slow. Today they were short and fast. Almost as if someone was knocking at the door. So naturally my mind went to what would have been a totally inappropriate response…… “Whoooo is it?”.

Inappropriate because after all we are standing in front of the Kadosh Baruch Hu during what is the pinnacle of our avodah, but also because according to Halacha we are in a “no taking/interruption zone” in our davening.

By thinking the joke did I cause an interruption? Since the Aibishter knows all, I wonder if he thought my joke was funny? Regardless, I haven’t forgotten Yaaleh Ve’yavoh once this whole 2-day Rosh Chodesh Davening. (I still have Mincha & Birkat Hamazon to go, so I’m not totally out of the woods)

Chodesh Tov, as I get my pre-Purim silliness on 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

